Staff Picks

Notorious RBG : the life and times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg

by Irin Carmon & Shana Knizhnik

An easy to read biography of Supreme Court justice Ruth Bader Ginsberg with a look into her education as one of the few women in law school, her relationship with her husband, her challenges for equality, and her workout plans.

--Roxanne's Staff Pick

Read More »

How they croaked: the awful ends of the awfully famous

by Georgia Bragg, illustrated by Kevin O'Malley 

A look at the death's of several famous people throughout history - from King Tut to Albert Einstein - and the circumstances surrounding their deaths.  How They Croaked begins with a clear warning: "If you don't have the guts for gore, DO NOT READ THIS BOOK." They are not kidding.

Read More »

Your heart is a muscle the size of a fist : a novel

by Sunil Yapa

On a rainy, cold day in November 1999, young Victor--a nomadic, scrappy teenager who's run away from home--sets out to sell as much marijuana as possible to the throng of WTO demonstrators determined to shut down the city. 

Read More »

Finding Winnie

by Lindsay Mattick

Before Winnie-the-Pooh, there was a real bear named Winnie. And she was a girl!

In 1914, Harry Colebourn, a veterinarian on his way to tend horses in World War I, followed his heart and rescued a baby bear. He named her Winnie, after his hometown of Winnipeg, and he took the bear to war.
 

Read More »

Be Frank With Me

by Julia Claiborne Johnson

Reclusive literary legend M. M. 'Mimi' Banning has been holed up in her Bel Air mansion for years. But after falling prey to a Bernie Madoff-style ponzi scheme, she's flat broke. Now Mimi must write a new book for the first time in decades, and to ensure the timely delivery of her manuscript, her New

Read More »

Dumplin'

by Julie Murphy

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine—self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson—from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary

Dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked...until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local

Read More »

Above the Waterfall

by Ron Rash

Les, a long-time sheriff nearing retirement, contends with the ravages of poverty and crystal meth in his small Appalachian town. Nestled in a beautiful hollow of the Appalachians, his is a tight-knit community rife with secrets and suspicious of outsiders.

Becky, a park ranger, arrives in this remote patch of North Carolina hoping to ease the anguish of a harrowing past. Searching for tranquility amid the verdant stillness, she finds solace in poetry and the splendor of the land.

Read More »
The Girl in the Spider's Web by David Lagercrantz

The Girl in the Spider's Web

by David Lagercrantz

She is the girl with the dragon tattoo—a genius hacker and uncompromising misfit. He is a crusading journalist whose championing of the truth often brings him to the brink of prosecution.  Late one night, Blomkvist receives a phone call from a source claiming to have information vital to the United States. The source has been in contact with a young female superhacker—a hacker resembling. . . 

Read More »

Library of Souls

by Ransom Riggs

A thrilling and satisfying installment in Riggs's "Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children" series. The book picks up where Hollow City (Quirk, 2014) left off without missing a beat, catapulting the children on a dark chase through London and various time loops in a final confrontation against the evil wights and the monstrous hollowgasts. In Hollow City, the children were trying to save Miss Peregrine. In Library of Souls, the fate of all Peculiardom is at stake.

Read More »

The Rumor

by Elin Hilderbrand

Madeline King and Grace Pancik are best friends and the envy of Nantucket for their perfect marriages, their beautiful kids, their Sunday night double dates with their devoted husbands. But this summer, something's changed, and if there's anything Nantucket likes better than cocktails on the beach at sunset, it's a good rumor.

And rumor has it...

...that Madeline, a novelist, is

Read More »

Too Noisy

by Malachy Doyle

If you’re looking for a read-aloud with lots of sound effects—banging and crashing and booming—then this is your book. The Bungles are a family of indeterminate species (each has a nose that resembles a small elephant trunk), and they’re a noisy crew: “Bella bangs on pots and pans, / and Fitz and Finn, / the Bungle babies, / Squeak and / Squawk and / SQUELCH!” Sam, the contemplative middle child, can’t

Read More »
Born With Teeth by Kate Mulgrew

Born With Teeth

by Kate Mulgrew

We know Kate Mulgrew for the strong women she's played--Captain Janeway on Star Trek; the tough-as-nails "Red" on Orange is the New Black. Now, we meet the most inspiring and memorable character of all: herself. By turns irreverent and soulful, laugh-out-loud funny and heart-piercingly sad, BORN WITH TEETH is the breathtaking memoir of a woman who dares to live life to the fullest, on her own terms. --Amazon

Read More »

Blow Your Nose, Big Bad Wolf

by Steve Smallman 

The story follows the classic tale, except that all the wolf wants from the pigs is a tissue to blow his nose. Denied entrance when he knocks, he sneezes and accidentally blows down the straw and stick houses. The brick house does not fall down, the pigs put a huge pot of water on the fire, and the wolf comes down the chimney too soon for the water to be boiling.

Read More »
The Marriage of Opposites by Alice Hoffman

The Marriage of Opposites

by Alice Hoffman 

This book is a forbidden love story set on the tropical island of St. Thomas about the extraordinary woman who gave birth to painter Camille Pissarro—the Father of Impressionism.

Growing up on idyllic St. Thomas in the early 1800s, Rachel dreams of life in faraway Paris. Rachel’s mother, a pillar of their small refugee community of Jews who escaped the Inquisition, has never forgiven her daughter

Read More »

The Meaning of Maggie

by Megan Jean Sovern 

As befits a future President of the United States of America, Maggie Mayfield has decided to write a memoir of the past year of her life. And what a banner year it's been! During this period, she's Student of the Month on a regular basis, an official shareholder in Coca-Cola stock, and defending Science Fair champion. Most importantly, though, this is the year Maggie has to pull up her bootstraps (the family motto)

Read More »