Staff Picks

Hope was here

by Joan Bauer

When Hope and her aunt move to small-town Wisconsin to take over the local diner, Hope's not sure what to expect. But what they find is that the owner, G.T., isn't quite ready to give up yet - in fact, he's decided to run for mayor against a corrupt candidate. And as Hope starts to make her place at the diner, she also finds herself caught up in G.T.'s campaign - 

--Deb's Staff Pick

Grades 6-12

Read More »

Ready player one

by Ernest Cline

"An exuberantly realized, exciting, and sweet-natured cyber-quest. Cline's imaginative and rollicking coming-of-age geek saga has a smash-hit vibe."--Booklist, starred review
"Ready Player One takes place in the not-so-distant future--the world has turned into a very bleak place, but luckily there is OASIS, a virtual reality world that is a vast online utopia. 

--Kate's Staff Pick

Read More »

Mr. Penumbra's 24-hour bookstore

by Robin Sloan

After a layoff during the Great Recession sidelines his tech career, Clay Jannon takes a job at the titular bookstore in San Francisco, and soon realizes that the establishment is a facade for a strange secret.

--Luna's Staff Pick

Read More »

How it went down

by Kekla Magoon

When sixteen-year-old Tariq Johnson is shot to death, his community is thrown into an uproar because Tariq was black and the shooter, Jack Franklin, is white, and in the aftermath everyone has something to say, but no two accounts of the events agree.

--Shannon's Staff Pick

Read More »

The Boston girl : a novel

by Anita Diamant

A story "about family ties and values, friendship and feminism told through the eyes of a young Jewish woman growing up in Boston in the early twentieth century. Addie Baum is The Boston Girl, born in 1900 to immigrant parents who were unprepared for and suspicious of America and its effect on their three daughters. Growing up in the North End, then a teeming multicultural neighborhood, Addie's intelligence and curiosity take her to a world her parents can't imagine--

Read More »

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens agenda

by Becky Albertalli

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised. (-Goodreads)

Read More »

Whoops!

by Suzi Moore; illustrated by Russell Ayto 

The cat can't meow, the dog can't bark, and even the mouse can't squeak. When they go to the little old lady in the woods for a spell to restore their voices, things don't go as expected.  The rhythm of this book lends itself well to story times and repeat readings at home! Winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize.

Read More »

Scarlett Epstein hates it here

by Anna Breslaw 

When Scarletts beloved TV show is canceled and her longtime crush, Gideon, is sucked out of her orbit and into the dark and distant world of Populars, Scarlett turns to the fanfic message boards for comfort. This time, though, her subjects aren't the swoon-worthy stars of her fave series -- they're the real-life kids from her high school.

Read More »

Notorious RBG : the life and times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg

by Irin Carmon & Shana Knizhnik

An easy to read biography of Supreme Court justice Ruth Bader Ginsberg with a look into her education as one of the few women in law school, her relationship with her husband, her challenges for equality, and her workout plans.

--Roxanne's Staff Pick

Read More »

How they croaked: the awful ends of the awfully famous

by Georgia Bragg, illustrated by Kevin O'Malley 

A look at the death's of several famous people throughout history - from King Tut to Albert Einstein - and the circumstances surrounding their deaths.  How They Croaked begins with a clear warning: "If you don't have the guts for gore, DO NOT READ THIS BOOK." They are not kidding.

Read More »

Your heart is a muscle the size of a fist : a novel

by Sunil Yapa

On a rainy, cold day in November 1999, young Victor--a nomadic, scrappy teenager who's run away from home--sets out to sell as much marijuana as possible to the throng of WTO demonstrators determined to shut down the city. 

Read More »

Finding Winnie

by Lindsay Mattick

Before Winnie-the-Pooh, there was a real bear named Winnie. And she was a girl!

In 1914, Harry Colebourn, a veterinarian on his way to tend horses in World War I, followed his heart and rescued a baby bear. He named her Winnie, after his hometown of Winnipeg, and he took the bear to war.
 

Read More »

Be Frank With Me

by Julia Claiborne Johnson

Reclusive literary legend M. M. 'Mimi' Banning has been holed up in her Bel Air mansion for years. But after falling prey to a Bernie Madoff-style ponzi scheme, she's flat broke. Now Mimi must write a new book for the first time in decades, and to ensure the timely delivery of her manuscript, her New

Read More »

Dumplin'

by Julie Murphy

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine—self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson—from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary

Dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked...until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local

Read More »

Above the Waterfall

by Ron Rash

Les, a long-time sheriff nearing retirement, contends with the ravages of poverty and crystal meth in his small Appalachian town. Nestled in a beautiful hollow of the Appalachians, his is a tight-knit community rife with secrets and suspicious of outsiders.

Becky, a park ranger, arrives in this remote patch of North Carolina hoping to ease the anguish of a harrowing past. Searching for tranquility amid the verdant stillness, she finds solace in poetry and the splendor of the land.

Read More »