Children's Books Honored

Each the Association for Library Services to Children, a division of the American Library Association, honors the best writing and illustration of the year. You probably know the Newbery and Caldecott Medals, but there are many prizes given by ALSC. For the entire list of Media Award winner check the ALSC page here.

Here are this year's honorees:

2011 Newbery Medal winner is Moon over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool. The Newbery Medal is awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Newberry Honor titles include Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm; Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus; Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night by Joyce Sidman; and One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia.

The 2011 Caldecott Medal winner is A Sick Day for Amos McGee, illustrated by Erin E. Stead, written by Philip C. Stead. The Caldecott Medal is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Caldecott Honor titles include Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave, illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Laban Carrick Hill; and Interrupting Chicken, written and illustrated by David Ezra Stein.

Paul R. Gagne and Melissa Reilly Ellard, Weston Woods win 2011 Carnegie Medal for “The Curious Garden.” The Andrew Carnegie Medal honors the most outstanding video productions for children released during the previous year. 

The 2011 Giesel Award winner is Bink and Gollie, written by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGee, illustrated by Tony Fucile. The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.

The 2011 Giesel Award Honor titles include Ling & Ting: Not Exactly the Same!, written and illustrated by Grace Lin; and We Are in a Book!, written and illustrated by Mo Willems.

The 2011 Sibert Award Winner is Kakapo Rescue: Saving the World's Strangest Bird, written by Sy Montgomery, illustrated by Nic Bishop. The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in English during the preceding year.

2011 Sibert Award Honor titles include Ballet for Martha: Making Appalachian Spring, written by Jan Greenberg and Sandra Jordan, illustrated by Brian Floca; and Lafayette and the American Revolution, written by Russell Freedman.